Boards and Committees

Village Board

The Village of Frederic is an incorporated municipality that has a board of trustees form of government. The Board of Trustees provides policy direction to the village staff, enacts laws, adopts a budget and has the power of appointment over all employees, the Village Attorney and other standing boards and committees. The Village Board meets the 2nd Monday of each month in the Village Hall at 7 pm. Trustees are elected for a two-year term beginning the 3rd Tuesday in April after the election.

Harlin Owens, President

Rob Lillehaug

Jackie Peterson

Brad Harlander

Duane Wissee

Patty Swenson

Brett Daeffler

Public Works Committee

The Public Works Committee oversees the water and sewer utilities and the street department.

Brett Daeffler, Chair

Rob Lillehaug

Duane Wisse

Planning Commission

The mission of the Planning Commission is to assist in the adoption and implementation of the Comprehensive Plan for the Village of Frederic, recommend zoning changes and administratively act on development proposals. The Planning Commission meets on a need-to basis.

Harlin Owens, Chair

Rob Lillehaug

Mike Peterson

Ron Goodroad

Tim Webb

Personnel/Finance Committee

The Personnel and Finance Committee handles all employee issues and reviews. The Committee also assists the treasurer with the annual budget process.

Patty Swenson, Chair

Jackie Peterson

Duane Wisse

Zoning Board of Appeals

The Zoning Board of Appeals makes a ruling or recommendation to the Village Board regarding all “nonconforming use” of land, dwelling or a building as stated in the current zoning ordinance records.

Brad Harlander

Yul Kwon

Brandon Dahl

Amy Gjonnes

Michael Eideh


Park Board

The mission of the Park Board is to acquire, improve and maintain the Village of Frederic’s parks and open spaces for the purpose of providing active and passive recreational activities, land and water preservation and restoration and environmental education for its residents.

The Park board serves as an advisory board to the Village Board of Trustees and is responsible for:

  1. Supervision and recommendation of all acquisition, maintenance, operating rules and improvements for all park lands.

  2. Submitting an annual budget to the Village Board

  3. Submitting a written summary of all meetings and all citizen comments or concerns to the Village Board.

  4. Recommending any changes, practices, procedures or improvements which the Park Board determines is in the village's best interest.

Rebecca Harlander, Chair

Ginny Clausen

Jeff Carley

Maria Ammend

Patty Swenson


The Governance Committee reviews and updates Village Ordinances as necessary. The Committee also handles all applications for the Facade Loan Program.

Brett Daeffler

Rob Lillehaug

Brad Harlander